2016 Competition

Full hall from rear cropped
The 2016 Competition was held from 30th March to 3rd April; again generously hosted by Bromsgrove School. In the Preliminary Round 51 competitors from 86 who had applied were auditioned; 12 were selected to play in the Semi-Final on 2nd April. The Finalists’ Concert was held at 7.00 p.m. on Sunday 3rd April, and the result was as follows:
1st Prize (£5,000) Toby Hughes (double bass)
2nd Prize (£3,000) Ben Goldscheider (French horn)
3rd Prize (£1,500) Andrew Yiangou (piano)
4th Prize (£500) Tamil Salimdjanova (piano)
Presidents Prize (£1,000) for the best performance of a work composed since 1950: Emily Bannister (recorder)
Accompanist’s Prize (£500) Somi Kin
Toby Hughes
Ben Goldscheider
Andrew Yiangou
Tamil Salimdjanova
Emily Bannister



















(Above) A video (10 minutes) showing highlights of the final, including a short speech by Julian Lloyd Webber who gave some of the prizes.
(Below) The four finalists photographed with their certificates after the competition.

The Four Finalists
The Four Finalists