2017 Competition

The 2017 Competition was held from 4th to 8th April; again generously hosted by Bromsgrove School. In the Preliminary Round 51 competitors from 108 who had applied were auditioned; 12 were selected to play in the Semi-Final on 7th April. The Finalists’ Concert was held at 7.00 p.m. on Sunday 8th April, and the result was as follows:
1st Prize (£6,000) Emily Sun (violin)
Finalist Prize (£3,000) Wyn Chan (piano)
Finalist Prize (£3,000) Wayne Kwon (cello)
Sir John Manduell Prize (£1,000) for the best performance of a work composed since 1950: Dominic Degavino (piano)
Accompanist’s Prize (£500) Hayley Parkes
Emily Sun
Wyn Chan
Waynne Kwon
Dominic Devagino
(Black Row, left to right) Dominic Degavino, Hannah Roberts, Edmond Fivet, Hayley Parkes; (front row, left to right) Wyn Chan, Emily Sun, Waynne Kwon and Andrew Zolinsky